Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Department of Social Sciences - Berlin Graduate School of Social Science


The European PhD in Socio Economic and Statistical Studies was initiated in 2001 by Sapienza Università di Roma. A Partnership Agreement with other European Universities, based upon an International Interuniversity Co-operation Programme, was signed in 2002 and was followed in 2005 by a further Agreement allowing the joint delivery of the Doctor Europaeus.

The following partner universities are currently admitting and/or tutoring Sess.EuroPhD candidates:


Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Institut für Sozialwissenschaften
Berlin Graduate School of Social Sciences
Eotvos Loránd University Budapest Eötvös Loránd University Budapest
Faculty of Social Sciences

University of Haifa University of Haifa
Faculty of Social Sciences
HSE logo HSE Moscow
Faculty of Social Sciences
Sapienza Università di Roma Sapienza Università di Roma
University of Southampton University of Southampton
School of Social Sciences
University of Tampere University of Tampere
Faculty of Economics and Administration

Network Organisation and Institutional Structure

The European PhD's institutional structure consists of:

  • the President representing the PhD programme
  • the Scientific Board consisting of two representatives from each partner university; the Board meets on an annual basis to approve admissions, define core-curricula, establish examination procedures and evaluate, on the basis of shared methodological criteria, the high quality of the programme
  • the Doctoral Candidates Representation as a self-organised body for voicing the interests of the doctoral students to the Scientific Board
  • the Programme Director bearing responsibility for administering funds, currently assigned to Sess.EuroPhD by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), and for over-seeing the coordination of the programme
  • the Academic Manager in charge of the overall programme management and coordination
  • the Advisory Board composed of representatives of the associated research institutions.

Since October 2008, the coordination center is based at Humboldt University in Berlin where it is part of the Humboldt Graduate School (HGS) and the Berlin Graduate School of Social Sciences (BGSS). It is also associated with the Graduate Center of Economic and Social Research of the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW).



Andrew Hinde (since 2015)
University of Southampton

Past President

Elke Koch-Weser Ammassari (2007-2015)
Sapienza Università di Roma

Doctoral Candidates Representatives

Sara Picchi
Sapienza Universitá di Roma

Tim Winke
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin


Bernhard Weßels (Programme Director)
Martin Nagelschmidt (Co-ordinator)
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Berlin Graduate School of Social Sciences